14 Limerick Towns To Benefit From 44 Advanced CCTV Cameras

A total of 14 towns in Limerick are to benefit from 44 high spec CCTV Smart Cameras as part of a major expansion of the CCTV network by Limerick City and County Council.

Contracts have been signed between Limerick City and County Council and Roadbridge to install the high quality cameras in 24 new locations across all 14 towns.

The towns are: Abbeyfeale; Adare; Askeaton; Caherconlish; Castleconnell; Cappamore; Croom; Foynes; Kilmallock; Murroe; Newcastle West; Pallasgreen; Patrickswell and Rathkeale.

The cameras have Smart features for pattern/ footfall recognition and have automatic number plate recognition functionality.

The system allows for remote access of the CCTV feed on smartphones enabling authorised users access to live footage.

A number of ‘tourism’ cameras are also being installed to allow for Live Online Streaming.

The footage from these cameras will be monitored on a 24 hour basis seven days a week at Moyross Community Enterprise Centre.

The centre in Moyross is being upgraded to accommodate the expansion of the scheme which will facilitate the recording of up to 500 CCTV cameras.

Carmel Kirby, Director of Social Development with Limerick City and County Council said:

“We’re delighted to extend what has been a very successful community project in Moyross out to various parts of the county.

“What is great about the project is that the new CCTV cameras will result in local communities becoming much safer and secure.

“These cameras are being monitored 24/7 by Moyross Community Enterprise Centre. This expansion is creating new job and training opportunities for local people, and in doing so delivering on one strand of the economic pillar of the Limerick Regeneration Framework Implementation Plan.”

Local company Roadbridge won the competitive tender for the works which are estimated to cost in the region of €350,000.

Related Posts