Feature News

Government To Fund 31 Local Authorities €884,000 To Protect Environment

Under the 2018 Anti-Litter and Anti-Graffiti Awareness Grant Scheme (ALAGS) a total of €884,000 is being allocated to 31 Local Authorities by the Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Denis Naughten.

The allocation of €884,000 under ALAGS brings the total grants provided over the last ten years to almost €15 million.

Dublin City Council is to receive funding of €72,000, while Fingal, South Dublin and Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council’s are to receive €36,000 individually.

With this aid local authorities can conduct public awareness and education campaigns at a community level targeting litter, dog fouling and graffiti.

Each local authority is responsible for selecting the suitable awareness projects that receive funding.

Minister Naughten said:

“Last year, I increased funding for ALAGS by 28% and this level of funding for the programme is being maintained this year. Local authorities use this funding to raise awareness and encourage behavioural change to tackle graffiti and littering of all types, including gum, cigarette butts and  dog fouling, which is a particular bugbear of mine.

“Dog fouling is perhaps the most intrusive type of litter and a constant source of annoyance for us all on our streets, in our parks and on our beaches. I welcome any initiatives that will increase awareness of this nuisance litter and the many public health risks, particularly for children, that is associated with dog owners not picking up their dog’s waste.”

 Schedule of Anti-Litter Awareness Grant Allocations 2018:

Local Authority 2018 ALAGS Allocation
Dublin City 72,000
Cork County 36,000
Fingal 36,000
South Dublin 36,000
Kildare 23,000
Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown 36,000
Limerick City & County 51,000
Meath 26,000
Galway County 26,000
Donegal 26,000
Tipperary County 42,000
Kerry 26,000
Wexford 28,000
Wicklow 23,000
Mayo 23,000
Louth 23,000
Cork City 36,000
Clare 23,000
Waterford City & County 49,000
Kilkenny 23,000
Westmeath 19,000
Laois 19,000
Offaly 19,000
Galway City 36,000
Cavan 19,000
Sligo 19,000
Roscommon 19,000
Monaghan 19,000
Carlow 19,000
Longford 16,000
Leitrim 16,000
Totals 884,000


Related Posts