IPB Pride of Place Awards 2015

The IPB Pride of Place Awards 2015, in Association with Co-Operation Ireland, took place on the 14th of November in Treacys West County Hotel in a night of celebration and appreciation for the great work done in communities throughout Ireland.

50 locations were included in the winners. Amongst them were islands, coastal communities, towns and even a rehabilitation centre. Over 800 guests attended the prize-giving gala that was hosted by Clare County Council.

The aim of the Pride of Place competition is to recognise the work done by local community in all aspects of rural and urban regeneration, including social cohesion, heritage and environmental awareness, across all 32 counties.

Chairman and Founder of the Pride of Place Initiative said “The competition is about showing respect and inclusion for every sector in our communities, young, old, rich or poor and creating communities to which the people are proud to say they belong.”

Nomination for the awards are made by local authorities North and South to highlight the exceptional work done by groups in their communities. This year there were 102 groups nominated Catrina Gallen of Co-operation Ireland said there is no overall winner of the competition but instead there are “50 overall winners”.

Chief executive Peter Sheridan said, “This annual competition has become one of the most prestigious community awards on the island of Ireland. Co-operation Ireland is delighted to be associated through its Local Authority Programme with Pride of Place since it started 11 years ago. We are delighted that this continues to be one of Co-operation Ireland’s key community initiatives.”

Winners List:

Cities Competition

Population Category – Neighbourhoods Under 1,000

Winner: Cregagh, East Belfast

Population Category – Neighbourhoods 1,000 – 2,000

Runner-up: Blessington Street Basin Community, Dublin City

Winner: Ballyphehane, Cork City

Population Category – Neighbourhoods Over 2,000

Runner-up: Tramore, Co Waterford

Winner: The Poleglass Community, Belfast City

Age Friendly Community Initiative

Runner-up: Engage with Age – HOPE Project, Belfast City

Runner-up: Friendly Call, Cork City

Winner: Clareville Centre, Dublin City

Young People in the Community Initiative

Runner-up: Ballybane Traveller Integrated Youth Project, Galway City

Winner: Meitheal Mara – Bádóireacht Initiative, Cork City

Community Health Initiative

Runner-up: West Community Garden, Galway City

Winner: Deed Project, Derry City

Main Competition

Population Category Up to 300

Runner-up: Cloone, Co Leitrim

Runner-up: Tinryland, Co Carlow

Winner: Kilteely, Co Limerick

Population Category 300 – 1000

Runner-up: Ballyboughal, Fingal Council area

Runner-up: Kilteevan, Co Roscommon

Winner: Doonbeg, Co Clare

Population Category 1000 – 2000

Runner-up: Carlingford, Co Louth

Runner-up: Manorhamilton, Co Leitrim

Winner: Castlemartyr, Co Cork

Population Category Over 2000

Runner-up: Listowel Town, Co Kerry

Runner-up: Randalstown, Co Antrim & Newtownabbey

Joint Winner: Dunshaughlin, Co Meath

Joint Winner: Strandhill, Co Sligo

Age-Friendly Community Initiative

Runner-up: Ballinasloe Active Retirement Association, Co Galway

Runner-up: Strabane Community Project, Co Tyrone

Winner: Carnew Community Care, Co Wicklow

Young People in the Community Initiative

Runner-up: Monkstown Community Association, Co Antrim

Runner-up: Tipperary Comhairle na nÓg, Co Tipperary

Winner: Largy College YSI Group of 2014 -2015, Co Monaghan

Community Health Initiative

Runner-up: Jigsaw Offaly, Co Offaly

Runner-up: Tiglin, Co Wicklow

Winner: Coalisland & Dungannon Neighbourhood Renewal Partnership – Health, Co Tyrone

Housing Estates Category

Runner-up: Scanlon Park, Co Limerick

Runner-up: Willow Park Estate, Co Westmeath

Winner: Cois Cairn Estate, Dún Laoghaire Rathdown

Islands & Coastal Communities Category

Runner-up: Dungarvan & Helvick Head RNLI Fundraising Branch, Co Waterford

Runner-up: Ghort a’Choirce (Gortahork), Co Donegal

Winner: Inis Mór, (Inishmore Island), Co Galway

Urban Neighbourhoods Category

Runner-up: Cabinteely, Dún Laoghaire Rathdown Council Area

Runner-up: Mayfield /Glengormley, Co Antrim

Winner: Swinford, Co Mayo

Special Award: Edgeworthstown District Development Assoc. Co Longford

Special Award: Oaklands Lake, Co Wexford

Special Award: Roscommon Lions Club, Co Roscommon

Special Award: The Right Key, Co Down

Special Award: Kerry Traveller Health and Community Development Project, Co Kerry

Special Award: Mayo Masters GAA Team, Co Mayo

Council Community Engagement Award:

Winner: Derry and Strabane District Council

Related Posts