Tipperary County Council received the award for Council of the Year 2015. This award recognises the achievement in developing the new council website,

First held in 2006, the LAMA Awards were created to recognise innovative local and national projects in the areas of infrastructure, community development, recreation and social impact initiatives. Councillor Mags Murray Chairman of the LAMA Association, said: “The 2015 awards saw an increase in the community based project categories and the judges felt the standard of entries was very high. The LAMA Community & Council Awards are a great opportunity to highlight and acknowledge excellent projects and initiatives at local, county and national level. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners.”

Speaking after the awards, George Jones, Chairman of IPB Insurance, said:

“IPB Insurance has been supporting the LAMA Community & Council Awards for many years and I am delighted to say that every year we have seen significant growth in the quality and innovation of the submitted projects. This year was no exception. The vision and imagination demonstrated by our local authority Members and their communities augurs well for the future.”

2015 LAMA Community & Council Awards in association with IBP Insurance winners

Category / Name of Project

Best Heritage Project – Cavan Burren Park, Cavan County Council

Community Volunteer of the Year – Brendan Dempsey / St Vincent DePaul, Cork CoCo

Emergency Response Person/Team of the Year – Bundoran Lifeboat Station, Donegal CoCo

Local Sports Club of the Year – Donabate Portrane Community Centre, Fingal County Council

Most Innovative Authority Sponsored by AES – County Development Plan & Consultation Process, South Dublin County Council

Best Connected Community –, Dublin City Council

Best Energy Smart Initiative by a Local Authority – Think Energy, Dublin City Council

Best Public Building sponsored by GeoDirectory – Dlr LexIcon, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council

Local Festival/Event of the Year – Baboro, International Arts Festival for Children, Galway City Council

Most Significant Contribution to Water Quality sponsored by EireWater – MulkearLife, Limerick City and County Council

Best Economic Partnership/Unit – Enterprise and Investment Unit, Mayo County Council

Best Education Building – Navan Educational Campus, Navan CoCo

Best Community Based Initiative – Dunshaughlin Community Centre, Meath CoCo

Best Tourism Initiative – Shannon Blueway, National Project

Council of the Year sponsored by IPB Insurance – Tipperary County Council

Best Public Park – Le Chéíle Park, Wexford CoCo

Best Civil Engineering Project – Greystones Harbour Project. Wicklow CoCo

Best Business working with the Community – Lidl Ireland, Kildare County Council

National Impact Award sponsored by Ireland West Airport Knock – Wild Atlantic Way, National Project

Special Merit Award – John Looney, Cork City Council

Grand Prix sponsored by IPB Insurance – Dlr LexIcon, DunLaoghaire Rathdown CoCo

Related Posts