Education News

Minister Harris Officially Opens Atlantic Technological University

Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris, has officially opened the new Atlantic Technological University (ATU).

Atlantic TU sees the dissolution of Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology, Institute of Technology Sligo, and Letterkenny Institute of Technology.

Speaking to mark the occasion, Minister Harris said, “the establishment of Atlantic Technological University, the fourth TU in the State, is a significant occasion for higher education in Ireland and, in particular, for the West and North West regions. I know today is a day of mixed emotions as we dissolve GMIT, IT Sligo and Letterkenny IT but it should be a day of immense pride too to the management, governing authorities and staff of the 3 institutions.”

Today is the start of a new journey. Together these institutions will merge to become ATU – a powerhouse working for the region, for investment in the region and its people.”

The first President of the new TU is Dr Orla Flynn, outgoing President of Galway-Mayo IT, and its chair is Maura McNally, chair of the Bar Council of Ireland.

Minister Harris added, “both Orla and Maura bring exceptional experience to the roles. I know they will work together to deliver real change and reform. This is a landmark that I am particularly glad to see reached, and I would like to congratulate all involved.”

Providing higher educational programmes across all levels of the National Framework of Qualifications, including both apprenticeships and doctoral level qualifications, the new TU will play a pivotal role in the strategic regional development of the West and North West.

Related Posts