Council Partners News

Minister O’Brien announces funding of almost €1m to support local authorities

Minister Joe O’Brien T.D., Minister of State at the Department of Rural and Community Development has today announced an increase in funding of almost €1m to local authorities to support their community functions. This additional funding will in particular support the work of the Local Community Development Committees (LCDCs) through Additional Staff Resource (ASR) payments.

The allocation of additional funding arises from a comprehensive review of the work of the LCDCs. The review found that since their creation, the LCDCs have been performing an ever-expanding range of functions and there was a clearly evidenced need for continued funding to support them in delivering upon their core work. ASR funding has been provided annually to the local authorities since 2017 as a contribution towards their community functions and in particular the staffing of the LCDCs.

Minister O’Brien said, “The Department of Rural and Community Development has a clear, people-centred, mission – To promote rural and community development and to support vibrant, inclusive and sustainable communities throughout Ireland. I am pleased to be able to provide additional funding of almost €1m to assist the community function of all 31 Local Authorities nationwide supporting this mission and supporting rural and community development throughout the country.”

The LCDCs are responsible for coordinating, planning and overseeing local and community development funding and bringing a more joined-up approach to the running of local and community development programmes and interventions. The LCDCs are also responsible for the management and oversight of significant programmes such as the Social Inclusion Programme (SICAP) and the LEADER Rural Development Programme, in some areas. This increase in funding for the ASR brings the total annual funding to €2.9m. New allocations for each Local Authority for 2024 are set out below:

ASR Allocations 2024

CountyTotal Allocation amount
Carlow€ 78,293.76
Cavan€ 80,735.92
Clare€ 85,080.29
Cork City€ 110,974.92
Cork County€ 108,369.28
Donegal€ 106,000.11
Dublin City€ 150,000.00
Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown€ 92,173.86
Fingal€ 107,050.88
Galway City€ 76,477.84
Galway County€ 92,776.94
Kerry€ 90,674.06
Kildare€ 100.060.89
Kilkenny€ 82,535.59
Laois€ 82,206.54
Leitrim€ 75,000.00
Limerick City and County€ 112,050.37
Longford€ 77,645.35
Louth€ 97,487.80
Mayo€ 91,600.29
Meath€ 95,498.30
Monaghan€ 76,558.06
Offaly€ 84,126.89
Roscommon€ 77,606.75
Sligo€ 76,805.09
South Dublin€ 135,472.25
Tipperary€ 97,728.66
Waterford City and County€ 91,878.11
Westmeath€ 83,060.93
Wexford€ 100.351.58
Wicklow€ 88,718.69
Total€ 2,905,000.00

(Source: Department of Rural and Community Development)

Related Posts