National Community and Council Awards 2017 winners anounnced

The winners for National Community and Council Awards 2017 were announced at a gala awards ceremony held over the weekend.

The awards, now in their eleventh year, recognise and celebrate community and councils working together. They provide an opportunity to highlight and celebrate the work done within our communities, to reward our unsung heroes and to acknowledge the phenomenal contribution they’ve made to our lives.

Among the many worthy winners, Fingal County Council scooped the ‘Council of the Year’ award, while Limerick City & County Council took the gong for ‘Most Innovative Authority’ and Sharon Byrne (Tallaght Community Volunteer, South Dublin County Council) was name Community Volunteer of the Year.

The full list of 2017 Community & Council Awards – presented by IPB Insurance and LAMA – is below:

  • Most Significant Contribution to Water Quality: StreamScapes Waters & Wilds, Community Engagement, Coomhola Salmon Trust
  • Best New/Micro Business sponsored by Enterprise Ireland: InvizBox, Fingal County Council
  • Best Irish Business Working in the Community sponsored by Kantar Media: BASE Enterprise Centre, Fingal County Council
  • Best Public Building sponsored by GeoDirectory Ireland: The Ballybough Community, Youth and Fitness Centre, Dublin City Council
  • Best Energy Smart Initiative: Home Energy Saving Kit, Dublin City Council, Submitted by: Codema
  • Local Sports Club of the Year: Ballyhaunis GAA Club, Mayo County Council
  • Best Public Park: Library Park An Clog Mór Amphitheatre, New Ross, Wexford County Council
  • Emergency Response Person of the Year: Paul Hennessy-Tramore Cliff and Mountain Rescue Association, Waterford County Council
  • Best Civil Engineering Project: Leopardstown Link Road & Roundabout Reconfiguration, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council, Submitted by: Clonmel Enterprises
  • Best Health & Well Being Initiative: Men on the Move Physical Activity Programme, Mayo County Council, Submitted by: Mayo Sports Partnership
  • Fáilte Ireland Best Tourism Initiative: Dublin Fringe Festival 2016, Dublin City Council
  • Best Education and Training Initiative: I Wish, Cork City Council
  • Disability Access and Inclusion Award: Mungret Park and Playground, Limerick City & County Council
  • Most Innovative Authority: Limerick City & County Council
  • Community Volunteer of the Year: Sharon Byrne- Tallaght Community Volunteer, South Dublin County Council
  • Best Community Based Initiative: Roscrea CFR Group, Tipperary County Council
  • Best Connected Community:, Wicklow County Council
  • Best Educational Building: Kishoge Community College, South Dublin County Council
  • Best Heritage Project: St Fechin’s Trail and Tale, Westmeath County Council, Submitted by: Fore Heritage & Amenity Group
  • Best Road Safety Initiative: “Check it Fits” Roadshow, Road Safety Authority: Wexford County Council
    Council of the Year sponsored by IPB Insurance: Fingal County Council
  • National Impact Award: Ireland 2016 Centenary Programme, Department of Arts, Heritage, Rural, Regional and Gaeltacht Affairs
  • Grand Prix Award sponsored by IPB Insurance: The Ballybough Community, Youth and Fitness Centre, Dublin City Council

Related Posts