Culture News

Apocalypse Clown Wins Best Irish Film at 35th Galway Film Fleadh

Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland is delighted to congratulate all of the projects and filmmakers awarded at the 35th Galway Film Fleadh this year across feature film, documentary and shorts. The festival closed on Sunday, 16th July with its annual awards ceremony, where ‘Apocalypse Clown’ picked up the Best Irish Film award.

Directed by George Kane and produced by Morgan Bushe and James Dean for Fastnet Films, ‘Apocalypse Clown’ tells the tale of a troupe of failed clowns and an ambitious reporter who embark on a chaotic adventure of self-discovery after a mysterious solar event plunges the world into anarchy.

Screen Ireland-supported documentary ‘The Graceless Age: The Ballad of John Murry’ was awarded Best Irish Documentary at the festival, while Best Cinematography went to DOP Eleanor Bowman’s work on Lisa Mulcahy’s ‘Lies We Tell’. The Graceless Age, directed by Sarah Share, follows the American singer-songwriter John Murry as he embarks on a road trip that takes him from his haven on the cliffs of County Clare, Ireland to his native Mississippi and faces his demons.

Screen Ireland-supported short films were also big winners at the Irish festival. Following a sold-out World Premiere screening for Screen Ireland’s Focus Shorts and Frameworks schemes, writer/director Lochlainn McKenna’s short ‘Two For The Road’, produced by Natalie Britton and Grainne Dwyer, picked up two awards – Best Irish Short and Best Cinematography in a Short Film for DOP Eoin McLoughlin. Best Animated Short went to Jessica Patterson’s ‘Worry World’, written by Hugh O’Conor and produced by Shauna Cullen for Jam Media. Both categories are Academy Award-qualifying wins for short film categories at the Oscars. Screen Ireland’s Actor as Creator scheme also supported comedian and performer Hannah Mamalis’ ‘Baby Steps’, which won Best First Short and was produced by Zoë Brennan-Whitmore.

The Galway Film Fleadh is supported by the Arts Council, Fáilte Ireland, Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland and Galway City Council.

Source: Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland

Related Posts